Under 30 Cove Results


Ken Frank, Terry Horn, Sergei Khorochev, Brian Kiernan, Miguel Melendez, David Zovickian


Cynthia Barnard, Eileen Buckley, Alex Buehlmann, Judith Calson, Andrew Cassidy, Cynthia Colebrook, Nancy Friedman, Susanne Friedrich, Brian Gilbert, Byron Harbour, Tom Hunt, Joe Illick, Lorna Newlin, Tom Nuckton, Daragh  Powers, Neal Powers, Polly  Rose, Gina Rus, Eric Shupert

Special Helper: Era Osibe

Under 30 Cove Swim   
Short Course
Short Course

Dolphinclub goes to China Camp


A story photographed and written by Michael Kayton

3 rowboats left on a weekend excursion from the Dolphin Club to China Camp in the early morning hours of July 18.

At China Camp there was a 1 mile swim, another recreational row and a cookout at the beach attended by many more Dolphins. A wonderful weekend for all.

Here are more photos from this outing

Under 30 Cove Swim, Sunday, July 27, Bring the Kids and Your Friends

Our annual Under 30 Cove Swim is Sunday, July 27.  This swim is open to members, their guests, and their families in their first three decades.  The water’s as warm as we’ve seen it in July, so bring down your friends  and kids who have always wanted to swim in the Cove.  We will have a short course and a long course that will be set at the last minute to keep everyone guessing.

Sign in: 8:00-8:45
Pilot briefing: 8:45
Swim briefing: 9:00
Jump: 9:30

We will need a few pilots to keep things fair, safe, and fun.  While this is not a qualifying swim for Alcatraz or Golden Gate, if you are short a help, it’s a fun time.  (To qualify for Alcatraz or Golden Gate, swimmers need three qualifying out of cove swims and two “helps”.)


Blue Envelope Fund

A work in progress

The Blue Envelope Fund is designed to encourage DC camaraderie and athleticism while showing club support for individual competitors, and defraying some expenses in competitive events.

Requests in this initial test will be limited to $500 or less, with no more than $5000 to be given out. The application period will be July 17-Aug 15, for events before June 30, 2015.  Successful applicants will be announced at the August Board meeting.

Applicants will be members in good standing of the Dolphin Club, and have been such for at least two years.

If Fund is approved, decisions will be made by a committee of 3 (Suzanne Heim-Bowen, Renee deCossio, and Diane Walton).


APPLICATION (Three questions)

  1. Your goal; why should you be a Blue Envelope recipient?
  2. How does DC help you reach your goal/benefit from this?
  3. Estimated budget for event (named)/amount requested





Contact information:


Date joined:


___ Commitment to bringing home a photo and/or a good story.

send your application to blueenvelopefund@gmail.com

Dick Beeler Crazy Cove Results

For the 2014 Dick Beeler Crazy Cove swim, the Swim Commissioners divided the swimmers into 9 teams, 7 of 3 swimmers and 2 of 4 swimmers, trying to make the teams as equal as possible by ability.  Then courses were established, with the teams determining which swimmers swam which course, while gathering trinkets from the rowboats stationed around the cove.  Two extra prizes, soccer balls, could be captured and those two teams would have their group time adjusted down by one minute.  The group time was determined by when each team assembled for a photo on the beach.


Team Results:

* denotes teams with the soccer ball time adjustment

Team 1* –  24:15

Gabriella Cross, Madeline Eustis, Megan Wachs


Team 2 –  26:16

Michael Caniglia, Michelle Cherrick, Byron Harbour


Team 3 – 29:31

Ryan Dalton, Joanne Desmond, Wendy Katzman


Team  4 – 29:59

Kate Coleman, Charlie Cross, Susan Lauritzen


Team 5 – 30:31

Keith Howell, Kent Myers, Peter Prato


Team 6 – 31:10

Sally De Moss, Suzanne Heim-Bowen, Halie Kampman, Chris Tschinkel


Team 7* – 32:28

Robert Cable, Ken Frank, Cory Sturtevant


Team 8  – 32:54

Andrea Allen, Eileen Buckley, Patrick Dinan, Roxy Phifer


Team 9 – 34:31

Cory Emerson, Tom Johannessen, Catherine Nottage


Jon Bielinski, John Blackman, Kelley Heye, Laura Jones, Liz Kantor, Michael Kayton, Brian Kiernan, Brian Matthay, Miguel Melendez, John Selmer



Laura Atkins, Judith Calson, Michael Caniglia, Andrew Cassidy, Gabriella Cross, Kathleen Duffy, Ken Frank, Brian Gilbert, Suzanne Heim-Bowen, Tom Hunt, Tom Johannessen, Wendy Katzman, Mickey  Lavelle, Tom Neill, Era  Osibe, Jeffry Peargin, Roxy Phifer, Daragh  Powers, Robin Rome, Polly  Rose, Eric Shupert, Cory Sturtevant, Monica  Towers, Janice Wood


Special Helpers

Era Osibe, Pat Harvey, Desanne (Finish Photographer)


Individual Finish Order and Times

Place     F.name         L.name                    Time

1            Patrick         Dinan                0:19:10

2            Suzanne      Heim-Bowen    0:19:30

3            Ryan            Dalton               0:19:45

4            Sally            De Moss           0:20:42

5            Catherine   Nottage             0:21:09

6            Charlie        Cross                 0:21:42

7            Eileen         Buckley             0:22:28

8            Michelle     Cherrick             0:22:41

9            Gabriella    Cross                 0:22:55

10          Byron           Harbour            0:22:59

11          Peter            Prato                  0:23:02

12          Megan         Wachs               0:23:32

13          Robert         Cable                 0:23:40

14          Madeline   Eustis                0:23:46

15          Joanne        Desmond          0:23:53

16          Michael      Caniglia            0:24:27

17          Halie           Kampman         0:24:45

18          Kent             Myers                0:25:50

19          Cory              Sturtevant         0:26:04

20          Roxy             Phifer                0:26:33

21          Susan          Lauritzen          0:27:27

22          Wendy         Katzman            0:27:48

23          Kate             Coleman           0:28:03

24          Keith            Howell              0:28:47

25          Tom             Johannessen   0:30:03

26          Chris            Tschinkel          0:30:06

27          Andrea        Allen                 0:31:23

28          Ken              Frank                 0:32:16

29          Cory              Emerson           0:33:10

Joe Locke swims Farallones to GG Bridge

Today Dolphin Joe Locke became only the fourth swimmer to complete a solo Farallones crossing.

Joe Locke

Joe swam from the South Farallon Islands to the south tower of the Golden Gate Bridge in 13 hr and 58 min covering a straight line distance of 29.7 miles according to Evan Morrison, co-founder of the Marathon Swimmers Federation and the official observer on Locke’s swim. It was his seventh attempt to complete the swim. Joe’s time was about forty minutes faster than Ted Erikson’s mark from September 1967, the first known person to successfully swim from the Farallones to the Golden Gate Bridge. Dolphin Stewart Evans was the very first to complete this swim in 1967, but currents carried him to Bolinas. Congratulations Joe! Here’s is a link to the SF Gate article. Post from Daily news of Open water swimming here.